British Afternoon Tea-Inspired Tea Time, Anyone?

It felt like it was time to take the words “tea time” literally this week, and nothing reminds me more of tea time than British afternoon tea. So sticking to that line of reasoning, it only seemed natural to make scones this week. Since we made classic scones (with raisins) over the summer, I figured it was time to mix it up a little. While that meant moving away a little from British scones, I was so intrigued by the recipes I came across. The first one I decided on was for Orange and Dark Chocolate Scones with an Orange Glaze from A Farmgirl’s Dabbles (which totally had nothing to do with my obsession with the chocolate-orange combination). And because we are who we are (read: Eater to Eater), we couldn’t just make one type of scone. So then I guess I was on a citrus kick because the second recipe I chose was for Lemon Blueberry Scones from Live Well Bake Often.

Now, I’ve personally never made scones before (because watching other people make them doesn’t count). But it seemed pretty simple, and I’m (almost) always down to try new things in the kitchen. Somehow, I’ve never cut butter to make dough, but it was definitely an interesting experience. I’m embarrassed to say this, but it was more of an arm workout than I anticipated. Definitely worth it though! After the butter cutting part, I added the liquid ingredients, and then it was time for my favorite part: kneading the dough. Something about kneading and rolling out dough and then cutting it is so satisfying, especially when you know that the dough will become yummy warm scones in no time!

Something interesting I did for the first time today was make buttermilk! We had buttermilk. but just a little less than we needed, so we improvised a little and mixed some lemon juice with milk (in the ratio of 1 tablespoon of lemon juice or vinegar for every cup of milk, just in case you’re wondering). And I’d say it worked pretty well because the scones turned out just as I’d expected.

Once the scones were cooling after coming out of the oven, it was time to make the glazes! We actually only ended up making the orange glaze for the orange and dark chocolate scones. And even then, that only happened because I insisted. Many of the mentors were so excited that the first batch of orange and dark chocolate scones were out of the oven that they could barely wait for them to cool down, let alone for me to put some glaze on them. I must say, the scones were yummy with and without the glaze, especially because the warm slightly melty chocolate and hint of citrusy orange really went well together.

The lemon blueberry scones were definitely a success too, but since we popped those in the oven after, people’s bellies were already a little filled, so they were eaten at a much slower rate, and this time around, I didn’t even bother making the glaze.

All in all, I really enjoyed making scones, and I’d definitely do it again

– Kunali

Leave a Reply

